Seminole County is a geographical area located in eastern Central Florida and is part of the Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford, Florida, metropolitan statistical area (MSA.)  Previously a part of Orange County, Seminole County was officially formed by the Florida Legislature on April 25, 1913, and named for the Native American people who settled in the region.  At that time, the city of Sanford was named the county seat and remains so to this day. (Original copyright by Laverne Tornow, 2010)

​​This website provides online researchers free genealogical and historical information and resources as related to Seminole County.  This data is provided through private donations and public partnerships, and posted on a volunteer basis.

For questions regarding the FL GenWeb Project, county adoption and/or volunteering, contact Florida's State Coordinator .

For questions or feedback about this website, making a donation, and/or a research inquiry, contact Erin Corbelli.

Best wishes in your research!  Thank you for visiting.  

Our Neighbors​

Our History

Our Towns

Seminole County is neighbored to the southeast by Brevard County, to the northwest by Lake County, to the south and west by Orange County, and to the north and east by Volusia County.  To visit the GenWeb pages for these counties, follow the links or click here .
Seminole County cities and towns include Altamonte Springs, Casselberry, Chuluota, Geneva, Lake Mary, Longwood, Oviedo, Paola, Sanford, Wekiwa Springs and Winter Springs